The present-day area of Rábagyarmat was already inhabited in prehistoric times. After the conquest, a military patrol of the western lawn was established on the hills south of Raba.
The name of the village comes from the name of Gyarmat, the tribe of Kürt-Gyarmat, the first written record dates back to 1157. The first church of the village was built in the Árpád era, and there is information about the village school since the 1600s. The Rába runs on the outskirts of the village, so the area offers opportunities not only for lovers of diverse wildlife, but also for water hikers to discover the beauties of the landscape.